Boards & Commissions

Airport Board
Ken Woodraska
Jim Tuchscherer
Greg Bryan
Tommy Nations
John Bagge
Matt Derifield (Council Liason)
Dylan Mulfinger (Airport Manager)
Gerorge Tegeler (Fixed Base Operator (FBO))

Oelwein Municipal Airport 19623 40TH STREET (319) 283 -5089
Oelwein Weather Reports (319) 283-3518
Airport Board Meeting Third Thursday of Each Month 6:30 at the Oelwein Muncipal Airport

Civil Service Commission
Tim Gilson
Elmer Pearson (Chair)
Duane Brandt

Dylan Mulfinger (Board Secretary)

Electrical Board
Larry Steffen
Tom Stammeyer

Jay Shekleton (Board Secretary)
Meets as needed at City Hall

International Code Council, Board of Appeals
Dean Benter
Steve Cockerham
Andrew Miller
Larry Steffen

Jay Shekleton (Board Secretary)
Meets as needed at City Hall

Library Board
Callie Berryman, President 
Catherine Gilson 
Brett Ingersoll
Anita Mars
Blake Kerns

Susan Macken, Secretary 
Darin Christensen (Council Liason) 
Meets 2nd Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m. at the Oelwein Library 201 E Charles St, Oelwein, IA 50662

Mechanical Board
Jason Johnson
Brian Irvine
Tim Jones

Jim Prouty (Board Secretary) 
Meet as needed at City Hall

Park & Rec Commission
Mike Meska
Clint Berryman
Dan Stasi
Tim Gearhart
Jared Stewart 
Connie Jorgensen
Ashland Taylor 
Renee Cantrell (Council Liason) 
Joshua Johnson (Park Superintendent) 
Jessica Burkhart (Williams Wellness Center Coordinator) 
Meets the third Monday of the month at 5:15 p.m.

Planning & Zoning Commission
Brian Irvine
Josh Irvine
Travis Granberg
Roger Boleyn
Carol Tousley (Chair)
Savannah Dejong
Dave Gearhart

Jay Shekleton (Board Secretary) 
Meets second Monday of the month, 8:15 a.m. at City Hall

Plumbing Board
Josh Irvine
Randy Irvine
Tim Mortenson

Jay Shekleton, secretary


Tree Board
Ron Lenth
Tom Fick
Bill Brownell
Jeff Milks
Kyle Scheel

Joshua Johnson (Staff Represenative)
Meets as needed at City Hall

Upper Explorerland Regional Housing Commission 
Lou Ann Milks 

Zoning Board of Adjustment
Wayne Block
Paul Ryan
Ginger O'Connell

Jay Shekleton (Board Secretary)
Meets Third Thurday of the Month at 8:00 A.M. at City Hall, or as needed.
(Within 10 days after the Planning Comission Meets)

History of Oelwein

The town of Oelwein was laid out in a corn field purchased from G.A. Oelwein on the coming of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids and Minnesota Railroad (later called the Rock Island) in 1872. Some years later... Read More

Contact Us

 (319) 283-5440
 (319) 283-4032
 20 2nd Ave. S.W.